Wednesday, June 28, 2017

The Eighth Annual David Desk Awards

Annaleigh Ashford and Jake Gyllenhaal in
Sunday in the Park with George
Credit: Matthew Murphy
The Tonys, Drama Desks, Outer Critics, Lortels, Obies and all those other theatre awards have been handed out long ago. Now it's time for the Eighth Annual David Desks, the high points from the past theater season on and Off-Broadway. Unlike the Tonys, Drama Desks and OCC, I am including Sunday in the Park with George. The producers of the Sondheim revival declared the show ineligible for all theater accolades because their run was so short and they did not wish to give comp tickets to the various voters which would eat into their profit margin. Since I am the sole judge of these awards and I saw the show, I am free to include it. I have tried to limit the number of honorees in each category to six, but there are a few instances where I have stretched it to seven, just like the Emmys. The Drama Desks have also not been strict about the number of nominees in the categories. In previous years, they ballooned to as many as seven and this year, some were only five and some six. Like the DDs and OCCs, I considered Dear Evan Hansen last season for its Off-Broadway run. Among the honorees who were largely ignored by the other award dispensers are Annette O'Toole in Tracey Letts' Man from Nebraska, cast members from Hadestown, and Janet McTeer, brilliant as always in Les Liaisons Dangereuses.

The Antipodes (Annie Baker)
A Doll’s House, Part 2 (Lucas Hnath)
Indecent (Paula Vogel)
Man from Nebraska (Tracey Letts)
Oslo (J.T. Rogers)
Sweat (Lynn Nottage)
Vietgone (Qui Nguyen)

The Band’s Visit
Come from Away
Groundhog Day

Play Revival
The Hairy Ape
The Little Foxes
Six Degrees of Separation

Musical Revival 
Hello, Dolly!
Sunday in the Park with George
Sweeney Todd
Sweet Charity

Actor (Play)
Bobby Cannavale, The Hairy Ape
Daniel Craig, Othello
Jefferson Mays, Oslo
David Oyelowo, Othello
Richard Roxburgh, The Present

Actress (Play)
Cate Blanchett, The Present
Janie Dee, Linda
Allison Janey, Six Degrees of Separation
Laura Linney, The Little Foxes
Janet McTeer, Les Liaisons Dangereuses
Laurie Metcalf, A Doll’s House Part 2

Actor (Musical)
Corey Cott, Bandstand
Jake Gyllenhaal, Sunday in the Park with George
Andy Karl, Groundhog Day
Jeremy Secomb, Sweeney Todd

Actress (Musical)
Christine Ebersole, War Paint
Sutton Foster, Sweet Charity
Katrina Lenk, The Band’s Visit
Patti LuPone, War Paint
Bette Midler, Hello, Dolly!
Siobhan McCarthy, Sweeney Todd

Featured Actor (Play)
Michael Aronov, Oslo
Danny DeVito, The Price
Dave Hearn, The Play That Goes Wrong
Justice Smith, Yen
Richard Thomas, The Little Foxes

Annette O'Toole and Reed Birney in Man from Nebraska
Credit: Joan Marcus
Featured Actress (Play)
Randy Graff, The Babylon Line
Ari Graynor, Yen
Kristine Nielsen, Present Laughter
Cynthia Nixon, The Little Foxes
Annette O’Toole, Man from Nebraska
Nicole Rodenburg, The Antipodes

Featured Actor (Musical)
Gavin Creel, Hello, Dolly!
Patrick Page, Hadestown
Chris Sullivan, Hadestown

Featured Actress (Musical)
Stephanie J. Block, Falsettos
Jenn Colella, Come from Away
Beanie Feldstein, Hello, Dolly!
Amber Gray, Hadestown
Betsy Morgan, Sweeney Todd
Caroline O’Connor, Anastasia

Director (Play)
Sam Gold, Othello
Richard Jones, The Hairy Ape
Lila Neugebauer, The Antipodes, Everybody
Bartlett Sher, Oslo
Rebecca Taichman, Indecent

Director (Musical)
Bill Buckhurst, Sweeney Todd
Rachel Chavkin, Hadestown
David Cromer, The Band’s Visit
Pam McKinnon, Amelie
Matthew Warchus, Groundhog Day
Jerry Zaks, Hello, Dolly!

Andy Blankenbuehler, Bandstand
Warren Carlyle, Hello, Dolly!
Denis Jones, Holiday Inn

Tim Minchin, Groundhog Day
Anais Mitchell, Hadestown
Irene Sankoff, David Hein, Come from Away
David Yazbek, The Band’s Visit

Tim Minchin, Groundhog Day
Michael Korie, War Paint
Irene Sankoff, David Hein, Come from Away
David Yazbek, The Band’s Visit

Itamar Moses, The Band’s Visit
Danny Rubin, Groundhog Day
Irene Sankoff, David Hein, Come from Away

Set Design
David Gallo, Jitney
Nigel Hook, The Play That Goes Wrong
Rob Howell, Groundhog Day
Simon Kinney, Sweeney Todd
Stuart Laing, The Hairy Ape
Derek McLane, The Price

Costume Design
Jane Greenwood, The Little Foxes
Clint Ramos, Sweet Charity, Sunday in the Park with George
David Zinn, Amelie
Catherine Zuber, War Paint

Lighting Design
Jane Cox, Mark Barton, Amelie
Jeff Croiter, Bandstand
Bradley King, Hadestown
Amy Mae, Sweeney Todd
Mimi Jordan Sherin, The Hairy Ape

Sound Design
Sarah Angliss, The Hairy Ape
Gareth Fry, Pete Malkin, The Encounter
Shane Rettig, Vietgone

Projection Design
59 Productions, Oslo
Jared Mezzocchi, Vietgone
Jeff Sugg, Sweat

Solo Performance
Simon McBurney, The Encounter
Anna Deavere Smith, Notes from the Field

Special Award
Sound Operator Team from The Encounter

No comments:

Post a Comment